Keepin’ DFL Sexy!

This was the final DFL race ever.

Maybe.

I had the pleasure of doing all three DFL events, each one, getting sexier than the one before it. I will admit, I am a terrible cross racer; and a mediocre cross dresser. This course was probably the worst, in that it was in one of the dirtiest places in SF- Toxic Golf Beach. Just like the name implies, Toxic Golf has a seedy past in a dubious history of shady ecologically nightmarish acts. to race there, meant a series of calls to my previous doctors to make sure i was up to date on all my vaccines and immunizations.

Though the crowd was in a more palatable number than previous DFL events (a paltry 75-100 compared to the 150-200), it was still a challenge making headway in the abnormally dusty conditions. The course was somewhat of a kidney bean with a labyrinth and a goiter rolled into one, that mazed through a mystery silt that covered everything and everyone. Afterward- to my horror- I had an awful resemblance to one who had recently visited “La Playa,” even getting the nod from a couple in a Subaru as I rode to the Mission Bicycle Festival (another equally boring story). Maybe that was the point, and the joke was on all of us.

I did my best to stay upright, nearly washing out in the gravel and tree bark. But, due to my expertise from messengering, I declined to fall in something that could potentially give me some form of VD. I was lapped by a number of people, but I made sure to mark a few viable competitors (women and old men) and only let them lap me once.

All in all, I enjoyed my christening into cross via the DFL series. My cross virginity has be taken and tainted as I doubt I will have as much fun riding in circles in my underwear with very many other people.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Keepin’ DFL Sexy!

  1. Pingback: photos from the last DFL CX race | 14bikeco's Blog

Leave a Reply

